Author Topic: beginner questions  (Read 4020 times)

marsaday

beginner questions
« on: August 14, 2008, 10:24:53 AM »
i am hoping to set up a forum for my town (population 180k)

i will be looking at the kickstart package initially and i understand this will take up to 40 users at any one time.  is this correct?

so if the site responds and does well is it easy to transfer over to a bigger hosting package?

i am a computer novice, so do you guys set up the SMF software on your servers ready for me to use.  i dont think i can actually do this myself you see and i note a lot of providers offer this service free.

do you offer any help with using and converting the SMF software or do i need to go to SMF for this help.

can you give me an idea of how much storage 3GB is in terms of topics in a forum.  i mean is it equivalent to 100 topics with 20 posts in each. i think it will be more but if you could give me an idea it would help me visualise what i am getting.

G.C. Admin

• Performance Based Hosting
  • Administrator
Re: beginner questions
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 01:58:55 PM »
i am hoping to set up a forum for my town (population 180k)

i will be looking at the kickstart package initially and i understand this will take up to 40 users at any one time.  is this correct?

so if the site responds and does well is it easy to transfer over to a bigger hosting package?

i am a computer novice, so do you guys set up the SMF software on your servers ready for me to use.  i dont think i can actually do this myself you see and i note a lot of providers offer this service free.

do you offer any help with using and converting the SMF software or do i need to go to SMF for this help.

can you give me an idea of how much storage 3GB is in terms of topics in a forum.  i mean is it equivalent to 100 topics with 20 posts in each. i think it will be more but if you could give me an idea it would help me visualise what i am getting.